online studio

Can you influence the sensation of pain through mindfulness?

By 
Felicitas Chiara Franz
|
20/04/2022
Currently studying psychology at HS Fresenius in Frankfurt.

A summary of the second podcast episode

In this episode, Tonka and Philipp talk to Christopher Lalk. Christopher is a psychology student and has been working on the topic of mindfulness and pain perception in his master's thesis. In the course of the episode, he describes the experimental procedure, the results and talks to Tonka and Philipp about the future of mindfulness.

Overview - What is the conversation with Christopher Lalk about?

  • How did Christopher investigate the connection between mindfulness and the perception of pain?
  • What were the results of his study? 
  • What does the research say about mindfulness?
  • Where can mindfulness be applied to promote health and where is it already being applied?
  • What tips does Christopher have for you and/or beginners in the field of mindfulness?

Christopher Lalk is a psychology student and researched in his master's thesis whether mindfulness has a positive effect on the perception of pain.

Course of the study

He used the Cold Pressor Test for this. In this test, the test person immerses their hand in ice water and the time until they pull their hand out again in pain is measured. The test is often used in research on the perception of pain because it does not involve any health risks. In Christopher's experiment, the test subjects were first asked to perform the Cold Pressor Test. If they did not pull their hand out after five minutes, the test was stopped. The next step was to perform various retreats. The test subjects were divided into three groups.

The first group took part in a 15-minute mindfulness intervention, the second in a Loving-Kindness Meditation, i.e. a meditation in which one first shows kindness to oneself and then to other people, and the third group was given a text freed from context to read. The third group thus acted as a control group. After the retreats, the subjects were then asked to take the Cold Pressor Test again.

Results

Contrary to Christopher's expectations, however, neither the mindfulness group nor the lovingkindness group showed better values than the control group. He suspects that, on the one hand, no significant result could have been achieved in his study because an explanation regarding the subject matter was missing for the test subjects, and on the other hand, an exclusion rate could have helped. For example, test subjects who were already able to leave their hand in the water for five minutes before the retreat should have been excluded from the rest of the experiment because they could no longer show any improvement under the existing conditions. In addition, attention must be paid to the motivation of the test subjects, as this has a significant impact on the commitment of the respective participants. 

Despite the results, Christopher is still convinced that mindfulness has a positive effect on the perception of pain. In his research on the topic, which preceded the study, he also found many scientific findings that showed that mindfulness can indeed help against the sensation of pain. Christopher explains that mindfulness does not make the pain go away, but it helps to focus on something else. This is especially beneficial for chronic pain. Mindfulness is already being used in acceptance and commitment therapy and psychosomatic medicine and will continue to be studied so that it can be used in even more areas. 

There have been no studies on Loving-Kindness Meditation and its effects on the perception of pain, but it has been proven that practitioners are in a much better mood after it. Christopher was also able to prove this with his study.

Christopher has also trained as a yoga teacher and now gives regular yoga classes. He likes to start with a short meditation so that the participants can relax. However, Christopher sees yoga and meditation, contrary to their origins, as separate constructs, although one could guide the practitioner towards the other.

When asked how Christopher found his way to mindfulness, he answers that he found it through yoga, took part in an MBSR course, then met regularly with friends to meditate and now meditates via an app. 

Tips for Mindfulness Beginners

As a tip for getting into mindfulness or not giving up, he gives the advice that one should take small steps, i.e. not expect too much of oneself at once. He also thinks it makes sense to get to grips with the subject, for example by reading books on it and finding a group with whom you share your interest. At the end of the interview, Christopher calls for more research into the interplay between body and soul, as this could help trauma patients, among others.

Listen now

About The Mind: Your inspiring psychology podcast

About The Mind: As the name suggests, our podcast delves into people's minds. As psychologists, topics around the psyche and mental health are very important to us. These mainly include the focus on mental training, but also neuroscience, research, sleep, transhumanism, innovation and many other interesting aspects.

We have therefore set ourselves the task of learning more about it and sharing it with you. For this reason, we invite experts from various fields to learn more about their work and their knowledge. In addition, the guests are given the space to share their greatest learnings and challenges with us and, of course, with you. These encounters move us - and we learn that there is still a lot we don't know and want to keep striving for more.

Find all episodes here.

Interested?

If you would like to try meditating for yourself, we welcome you to our Online Meditation Studio From the comfort of your own home, you can take part in one of our many expert-led meditation sessions.

We are already looking forward to seeing you!

Also interesting:

Follow us on Instagram, LinkedIn and Facebook for more exciting content and information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to our newsletter

envelopecrossarrow-down
EN
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram

online studio

Kann man Schmerzempfinden durch Achtsamkeit beeinflussen?

Von 
Felicitas Chiara Franz
|
20/04/2022
Studiert Psychologie an der HS Fresenius in Frankfurt.

Eine Zusammenfassung der zweiten Podcastfolge

In dieser Folge sprechen Tonka und Philipp mit Christopher Lalk. Christopher ist Psychologiestudent und hat sich in seiner Masterthesis mit dem Thema Achtsamkeit und Schmerzempfinden befasst. Im Laufe der Folge beschreibt er den Versuchsablauf, die Ergebnisse und spricht mit Tonka und Philipp über die Zukunft der Achtsamkeit.

Überblick - Worum geht es im Gespräch mit Christopher Lalk?

  • Wie untersuchte Christopher den Zusammenhang zwischen Achtsamkeit und Schmerzempfinden?
  • Was waren die Ergebnisse seiner Studie? 
  • Was sagt die Forschung bezüglich der Achtsamkeit?
  • Wo kann Achtsamkeit zur Gesundheitsförderung angewendet werden und wo wird sie bereits angewandt?
  • Welche Tipps hat Christopher für dich und/oder Anfänger im Bereich der Achtsamkeit?

Christopher Lalk ist Psychologiestudent und erforschte in seiner Masterthesis, ob sich Achtsamkeit positiv auf das Schmerzempfinden auswirkt.

Ablauf der Studie

Hierfür nutzte er den Cold Pressor Test. Dabei taucht die Versuchsperson ihre Hand in Eiswasser und die Zeit, bis sie ihre Hand vor Schmerzen wieder herauszieht, wird gemessen. Der Test wird in der Forschung zum Schmerzempfinden oft angewandt, da er keine gesundheitlichen Risiken mit sich bringt. Bei Christophers Versuch wurden die Versuchspersonen zunächst dazu aufgefordert den Cold Pressor Test durchzuführen. Wenn diese ihre Hand aber nach fünf Minuten noch nicht herausgezogen hatten, wurde der Test abgebrochen. Als nächster Schritt erfolgten verschiedene Retreats. Die Versuchspersonen wurden in drei Gruppen aufgeteilt.

Die erste Gruppe nahm an einer 15 minütigen Achtsamkeitsintervention teil, die zweite an einer Loving-Kindness Meditation, also einer Meditation, bei der man zunächst sich selbst und dann anderen Menschen Güte entgegenbringt, und die dritte Gruppe bekam einen vom Kontext befreiten Text, den sie lesen sollte. Die dritte Gruppe fungierte somit als Kontrollgruppe. Nach den Retreats wurden die Versuchspersonen dann erneut zu dem Cold Pressor Test aufgefordert.

Ergebnisse

Entgegen Christophers Erwartungen zeigten hierbei jedoch weder die Achtsamkeits-Gruppe noch die Loving-Kindness-Gruppe bessere Werte als die Kontrollgruppe. Er vermutet, dass es bei seiner Studie zum einen zu keinem signifikanten Ergebnis gekommen sein könnte, weil eine Erklärung bezüglich der Thematik für die Versuchspersonen fehlte, zum anderen hätte eine Ausschlussrate helfen können. So hätten Versuchspersonen, die bereits vor den Retreats ihre Hand für fünf Minuten im Wasser lassen konnten, vom Rest des Versuchs ausgeschlossen werden sollen, da sie unter den bestehenden Bedingungen keine Verbesserungen mehr zeigen konnten. Zudem muss auf die Motivation der Probanden geachtet werden, da diese maßgebliche Auswirkungen auf das Engagement der jeweiligen Teilnehmer hat. 

Trotz der erhaltenen Ergebnisse ist Christopher immer noch davon überzeugt, dass sich Achtsamkeit positiv auf das Schmerzempfinden auswirkt. So fand er bei seinen, der Studie vorangegangenen, Recherchen zu dem Thema auch viele wissenschaftliche Befunde, die zeigten, dass Achtsamkeit durchaus gegen das Schmerzempfinden helfen kann. Christopher erklärt, dass Achtsamkeit die Schmerzen nicht verschwinden lässt, jedoch dabei hilft, den Fokus auf etwas anderes zu richten. Das ist vor allem bei chronischen Schmerzen von großem Vorteil. Achtsamkeit wird bereits in der Akzeptanz- und Commitmenttherapie sowie in der Psychosomatik angewandt und wird auch weiterhin untersucht, damit sie in noch mehr Bereichen genutzt werden kann. 

Bezüglich der Loving-Kindness Meditation und ihren Auswirkungen auf das Schmerzempfinden gäbe es bis jetzt keine Studien, bewiesen sei jedoch, dass Praktizierende nach dieser deutlich besser gelaunt wären. Das konnte Christopher mit seiner Studie ebenfalls beweisen.

Christopher hat außerdem noch eine Ausbildung zum Yoga-Lehrer gemacht und gibt nun regelmäßig Yoga-Stunden. Hierbei legt er gerne zu Beginn eine kurze Meditation ein, damit die Teilnehmer sich entspannen können. Jedoch sieht Christopher Yoga und Meditation, entgegen ihres Ursprungs, als getrennte Konstrukte an, wobei das Eine den Praktizierenden jedoch zum Anderen hinleiten könnte.

Auf die Frage, wie Christopher zur Achtsamkeit fand, antwortet dieser, dass er über das Yoga den Weg dorthin fand, an einem MBSR-Kurs teilnahm, sich dann regelmäßig mit Freunden zum meditieren traf und mittlerweile über eine App meditiert. 

Tipps für Achtsamkeits-Anfänger

Als Tipp, um in die Achtsamkeit einzusteigen oder nicht aufzugeben, gibt er den Ratschlag, dass man kleine Schritte machen sollte, also nicht zu viel auf einmal von sich erwarten sollte. Außerdem hält er es für sinnvoll, sich mit dem Thema auseinander zu setzten, also zum Beispiel Bücher dazu zu lesen und sich eine Gruppe zu suchen, mit der man sein Interesse teilt. Zum Schluss des Interviews ruft Christopher dazu auf, dass das Wechselspiel zwischen Körper und Seele noch mehr erforscht werden sollte, da man damit unter anderem Trauma-Patienten sehr gut helfen könnte.

Jetzt anhören

About The Mind: Dein inspirierender Psychologie-Podcast

About The Mind: Wie der Name schon verrät, taucht unser Podcast in die Köpfe der Menschen ein. Als Psychologen sind uns Themen rund um die Psyche und die mentale Gesundheit sehr wichtig. Diese beinhalten vor allem die Schwerpunkte des Mentalen Trainings, aber auch Neurowissenschaften, Forschung, Schlaf, Transhumanismus, Innovation und viele weitere interessante Aspekte.

Wir haben uns deshalb zur Aufgabe gemacht mehr darüber zu erfahren und es mit Euch zu teilen. Aus diesem Grund laden wir Experten aus vielfältigen Bereichen ein, um mehr über Ihre Arbeit und Ihr Wissen in Erfahrung zu bringen. Im Gespräch wird den Gästen außerdem der Raum geboten, Ihre größten Learnings und Herausforderungen mit uns und natürlich Euch zu teilen. Diese Begegnungen bewegen uns - und wir lernen, dass wir noch vieles nicht wissen und weiterhin nach mehr streben wollen.

Alle Folgen findest du hier.

Interesse?

Wenn Du das Meditieren selbst ausprobieren willst, heißen wir Dich in unserem Online-Meditationsstudio herzlich willkommen. Bequem von Zuhause aus kannst du an einer unser zahlreichen von Experten geleiteten Meditations-Sessions teilnehmen.

Wir freuen uns schon auf Dich!

Auch interessant:

Folge uns für weitere spannende Inhalte und Informationen gerne auf Instagram, LinkedIn und Facebook.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter

envelopecrossarrow-down
DE
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram