online studio

Dealing with fear and worry in difficult times - 6 tips

By 
Mindfulife
|
16/03/2022

It is better to light one small light than to curse the darkness.

Confucius

The first rays of sunshine announce the beginning of spring, a spring that should actually herald the end of the pandemic season with falling corona incidences. However, hopes for a free, sunny summer are dimmed by events in Eastern Europe: The war in Ukraine is causing unimaginable suffering, and many Europeans are currently experiencing the worst time of their lives. But even people who are not directly affected by the situation in Ukraine are preoccupied by the situation. Fear of a further escalation of the situation and worries about repercussions that can also affect oneself are superimposed on everyday life.

In this article we present 6 tips that can help you deal with anxiety in difficult times.

It is perfectly normal to worry in the current situation. However, anxiety triggers a stress response in the body that, if it persists over a long period of time, increases the risk of mental or physical illness. Anxiety should therefore be actively addressed - there are some good strategies for dealing with anxiety in crisis situations:

1. be aware of your feelings

A first important step in dealing with fear is to be aware of your own feelings. Fear does not disappear if you ignore it: Instead, feelings of helplessness or powerlessness can arise if one's own sensations are not consciously addressed.

Therefore, try to become aware of your feelings. You might also sit down and write down exactly what thoughts are going through your mind. Try to think through your fears rationally: Why are you afraid? How likely is it that what you are afraid of will happen? What could you do in this situation?

In the context of meditation or mindfulness practice, you can also turn consciously to your perceptions. There are some studies that suggest a positive effect of meditation and mindfulness on well-being and stress reduction (Chang et al. 2004; Grossman et al. 2004). So maybe (guided) meditation can help you deal with anxiety too.

2. distract yourself

It is not helpful if you are thinking about your worries all the time. You are allowed to distract yourself and have fun. In emotionally challenging situations, distraction is at least temporarily a way to increase your well-being (Kuehner et al. 2009).

Am besten lenkst du dich mit etwas ab, was dich geistig beansprucht und dir Spaß macht. Wie wäre es mit einer der folgenden Aktivitäten?

  • Playing a (board) game with friends or family
  • Take an excursion in the fresh air
  • Go to the cinema/museum
  • Read a good book
  • Cooking an elaborate dish
  • Doing something you have been putting off for a long time
  • Learn something you have always been interested in
Umgang mit Angst - Ablenkung kann helfen

Another good way to reduce stress and get your mind off things is to exercise (Aylett et al. 2018). Maybe there's a sport you've always wanted to try.

3. limit your news consumption

It is of course important to be informed - but news and social media are filled with incriminating images. Therefore, spending a lot of time following news coverage can be detrimental to your mental health (Pfefferbaum et al. 2019, 2021). Try to regulate your media consumption: For example, make a resolution to watch the news only twice a day at fixed times. This way you won't miss any relevant information, but you won't expose your psyche to the images of the news for several hours.

4. set up a worry hour

The concept of worry hour comes from psychotherapy and is suitable for stopping constant brooding. So if you notice that you are worrying around the clock at the moment, this strategy could be a useful solution.

To set up a worry hour, proceed as follows: You set a fixed time for yourself at which you explicitly engage with all worries and fears. For example, you can take half an hour every day at 5 p.m. for the worry hour. The important thing is: anxious thoughts outside the worry hour are stopped early and kept until the worry hour. If you think to yourself at 3 p.m.: "But what if..."you interrupt the thought directly and decide to continue thinking it in two hours' time.

In this way, you not only reduce the time you spend worrying (to about half an hour), but also the intensity of the worries themselves - long circles of thought in which your anxiety continues to increase cannot arise in the first place.

5. become active

The perception that one has no influence on events in a potentially threatening situation is stressful in itself (Bandura 1988). In order to break out of feelings of powerlessness, it can be helpful if one becomes active oneself and brings about something through one's actions.

You may become aware that your level of control over your life has not changed. You are still in control of your own actions, and you can respond to challenges. Try to remember your self-efficacy by doing something good for yourself or someone else.

You can also become active in relation to the war: You can help by volunteering, donating money or goods. You can also put your feelings into a creative project that you share on social media.

6. talk to others / seek support

It is important not to withdraw and isolate oneself socially when anxious and worried.

It is therefore a good idea to talk to friends or family about the thoughts and fears that are bothering you the most. It can be helpful to hear that others have similar concerns. Talking to others can also be distracting, especially if you combine it with a pleasant activity such as a walk in the fresh air.

If you want to talk to someone but don't know who to talk to, the telephone counselling service (0800/1110111 oder 0800/1110222) a way to talk anonymously about your concerns.

Your regular doctor may also be a good person to talk to if you need more support - for example, if your worries and fears are affecting you a lot, are intense or regularly deprive you of sleep.

Summary

It is perfectly normal to be afraid, anxious and worried in the face of events. However, if you feel that your emotions are getting out of hand or are affecting you, you should actively address your feelings and use strategies for dealing with anxiety. After all, it doesn't help anyone if you are not feeling well.

Sources

Aylett, Elizabeth; Small, Nicola; Bower, Peter (2018): Exercise in the treatment of clinical anxiety in
general practice - a systematic review and meta-analysis
. In: BMC Health Serv Res 18 (1), S. 559. DOI: 10.1186/s12913-018-3313-5.

Bandura, Albert (1988): Self-efficacy conception of anxiety. In: Anxiety Research 1 (2), S. 77–98. DOI:
10.1080/10615808808248222.

Chang, Vickie Y.; Palesh, Oxana; Caldwell, Rebecca; Glasgow, Nathan; Abramson, Mark; Luskin,
Frederic et al. (2004): The effects of a mindfulness-based stress reduction program on stress,
mindfulness self-efficacy, and positive states of mind.
In: Stress and Health 20 (3), S. 141–147. DOI:
10.1002/smi.1011.

Grossman, Paul; Niemann, Ludger; Schmidt, Stefan; Walach, Harald (2004): Mindfulness-based stress
reduction and health benefits.
In: Journal of Psychosomatic Research 57 (1), S. 35–43. DOI:
10.1016/S0022-3999(03)00573-7.

Kuehner, C.; Huffziger, S.; Liebsch, K. (2009): Rumination, distraction and mindful self-focus: effects
on mood, dysfunctional attitudes and cortisol stress response.
In: Psychol. Med. 39 (2), S. 219–228.
DOI: 10.1017/s0033291708003553 .

Pfefferbaum, Betty; Nitiéma, Pascal; Newman, Elana (2019): Is Viewing Mass Trauma Television
Coverage Associated With Trauma Reactions in Adults and Youth? A Meta-Analytic Review.
In:
Journal of Traumatic Stress 32 (2), S. 175–185. DOI: 10.1002/jts.22391 .

Pfefferbaum, Betty; Nitiéma, Pascal; Newman, Elana (2021): The association of mass trauma media
contact with depression and anxiety: A meta-analytic review.
In: Journal of Affective Disorders
Reports 3, S. 100063. DOI: 10.1016/j.jadr.2020.100063 .

Meditate online

If you would like to try meditating for yourself, we welcome you to our Online Meditation Studio . From the comfort of your own home, you can take part in one of our many expert-led meditation sessions.

We are already looking forward to seeing you!

Also interesting:

Follow us on Instagram, LinkedIn and Facebook for more exciting content and information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to our newsletter

envelopecrossarrow-down
EN
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram

online studio

Der Umgang mit Angst und Sorgen in schweren Zeiten - 6 Tipps

Von 
Mindfulife
|
16/03/2022

Es ist besser, ein einziges kleines Licht anzuzünden, als die Dunkelheit zu verfluchen.

Konfuzius

Die ersten Sonnenstrahlen verkünden den Beginn des Frühlings, ein Frühling, der mit fallenden Corona-Inzidenzen eigentlich das Ende der Pandemiezeit einleiten sollte. Die Hoffnung auf einen freien, sonnigen Sommer wird jedoch durch die Ereignisse im Osten Europas getrübt: Der Krieg in der Ukraine bringt ein unfassbares Leid mit sich, viele Europäer:innen durchleben in diesem Augenblick die schlimmste Zeit ihres Lebens. Aber auch Menschen, die nicht unmittelbar von der Lage in der Ukraine betroffen sind, beschäftigt die Situation - Angst vor einer weiteren Eskalation der Lage und Sorgen über Auswirkungen, die auch einen selbst treffen können, legen sich über den Alltag.

In diesem Artikel stellen wir 6 Tipps vor, die dir im Umgang mit Angst in schweren Zeiten helfen können.

Es ist völlig normal sich in der aktuellen Situation Sorgen zu machen. Angst löst jedoch eine Stressreaktion im Körper aus, die, wenn sie über einen längeren Zeitraum anhält, das Risiko psychisch oder körperlich zu erkranken erhöht. Ängste sollten daher aktiv adressiert werden - es gibt einige gute Strategien für den Umgang mit Angst in Krisensituationen:

1. Deine Gefühle bewusst wahrnehmen

Ein erster wichtiger Schritt im Umgang mit Angst ist es, die eigenen Empfindungen bewusst wahrzunehmen. Angst verschwindet nicht, wenn man sie ignoriert: Es können stattdessen Gefühle der Hilflosigkeit oder Ohnmacht entstehen, wenn die eigenen Empfindungen nicht bewusst adressiert werden.

Versuche dir daher deiner Gefühle bewusst zu werden. Vielleicht setzt du dich dazu auch hin und schreibst dir auf, welche Gedanken dir genau durch den Kopf gehen. Versuche deine Ängste rational zu durchdenken: Warum hast du Angst? Wie wahrscheinlich ist es, dass das, was dir Angst bereitet, eintritt? Was könntest du in dieser Situation tun?

Auch im Kontext einer Meditation oder Achtsamkeitsübung kannst du dich deinen Wahrnehmungen bewusst zuwenden. Es gibt einige Studien, die einen positiven Effekt von Meditation und Achtsamkeit auf das Wohlbefinden und zur Stressreduktion nahelegen (Chang et al. 2004; Grossman et al. 2004). Vielleicht kann eine (geführte) Meditation also auch dir im Umgang mit Angst helfen.

2. Dich Ablenken

Es ist nicht hilfreich, wenn du rund um die Uhr in Gedanken bei deinen Sorgen bist. Du darfst dich auch mal ablenken und Spaß haben. In emotional herausfordernden Situationen bietet Ablenkung zumindest zeitweise eine Möglichkeit das eigene Wohlbefinden zu steigern (Kuehner et al. 2009).

Am besten lenkst du dich mit etwas ab, was dich geistig beansprucht und dir Spaß macht. Wie wäre es mit einer der folgenden Aktivitäten?

  • Ein (Brett-)Spiel mit Freunden oder Familie spielen
  • Einen Ausflug an der frischen Luft unternehmen
  • Ins Kino/Museum gehen
  • Ein gutes Buch lesen
  • Ein aufwendiges Gericht kochen
  • Etwas erledigen, was du schon lange aufgeschoben hast
  • Etwas lernen, was dich schon immer interessiert hat
Umgang mit Angst - Ablenkung kann helfen

Eine weitere gute Möglichkeit, um Stress zu reduzieren und auf andere Gedanken zu kommen ist Sport (Aylett et al. 2018). Vielleicht gibt es ja eine Sportart, die du sowieso schon immer ausprobieren wolltest.

3. Deinen Nachrichtenkonsum einschränken

Es ist natürlich wichtig informiert zu sein – Nachrichten und auch Soziale Medien sind jedoch gefüllt mit belastenden Bildern. Daher kann es für deine mentale Gesundheit schädlich sein, wenn du sehr viel Zeit damit verbringst der Berichterstattung zu folgen (Pfefferbaum et al. 2019, 2021). Versuche deinen Medienkonsum zu regulieren: Etwa, indem du dir vornimmst, nur zweimal täglich zu festen Zeiten die Nachrichten zu schauen. So verpasst du keine relevante Information, setzt deine Psyche aber auch nicht stundenlang den Bildern der Berichterstattung aus.

4. Eine Sorgenstunde einrichten

Das Konzept der Sorgenstunde kommt aus der Psychotherapie und ist geeignet, um ständiges Grübeln zu unterbinden. Wenn du also merkst, dass du dir im Moment rund um die Uhr Sorgen machst, könnte diese Strategie also eine sinnvolle Lösung sein.

Um eine Sorgenstunde einzurichten, gehst du wie folgt vor: Du nimmst dir eine feste Zeit vor, zu der du dich auf alle Sorgen und Befürchtungen explizit einlässt. So kannst du dir etwa jeden Tag um 17 Uhr für eine halbe Stunde Zeit für die Sorgenstunde nehmen. Wichtig dabei ist: Ängstliche Gedanken außerhalb der Sorgenstunde werden frühzeitig abgebrochen und bis zur Sorgenstunde aufbewahrt. Wenn du dir um 15 Uhr denkst: "Aber was ist, wenn…" unterbrichst du den Gedanken direkt und nimmst dir vor, ihn in zwei Stunden weiter zu denken.

So reduzierst du nicht nur die Zeit, die du mit Sorgen verbringst (auf etwa eine halbe Stunde), sondern auch die Intensität der Sorgen selbst – Lange Gedankenkreise, in denen sich deine Angst immer weiter steigert, können so gar nicht erst entstehen.

5. Aktiv werden

Die Wahrnehmung, dass man in einer potenziell bedrohlichen Situation keinen Einfluss auf das Geschehen hat, wirkt an sich stressend (Bandura 1988). Um aus Gefühlen der Ohnmacht auszubrechen kann es hilfreich sein, wenn man selbst aktiv wird und etwas durch sein Handeln bewirkt.

Dir kann etwa bewusst werden, dass sich dein Ausmaß der Kontrolle über dein Leben nicht verändert hat. Du bestimmst weiterhin selbst über dein Handeln, auch auf Herausforderungen kannst du reagieren. Versuche dich an deine Selbstwirksamkeit zu erinnern, indem du dir selber oder jemandem anderen etwas Gutes tust.

Auch in Bezug auf den Krieg kannst du aktiv werden: Du kannst etwa durch ehrenamtliche Arbeit, durch Geld- oder Sachspenden helfen. Vielleicht steckst du auch deine Gefühle in ein kreatives Projekt, dass du in den Sozialen Medien teilst.

6. Mit anderen sprechen / Unterstützung suchen

Es ist wichtig, sich bei Ängsten und Sorgen nicht zurückzuziehen und sozial zu isolieren.

Daher bietet es sich an, die Gedanken und Befürchtungen, die dich besonders belasten, im Gespräch mit Freunden oder Familie anzusprechen. Es kann hilfreich sein zu hören, dass andere ähnliche Sorgen haben. Der Austausch mit anderen kann im Übrigen auch ablenkend sein, vor allem wenn man ihn mit einer angenehmen Aktivität, wie einem Spaziergang an der frischen Luft, verbindet.

Wenn du mit jemandem reden willst, aber nicht weißt, mit wem, so bietet die Telefonseelsorge (0800/1110111 oder 0800/1110222) eine Möglichkeit anonym über deine Sorgen zu sprechen.

Dein Hausarzt kann auch ein geeigneter Ansprechpartner sein, wenn du mehr Unterstützung brauchst - etwa, wenn dich deine Sorgen und Ängste stark beeinträchtigen, intensiv sind oder dir regelmäßig den Schlaf rauben.

Fazit

Es ist völlig normal angesichts der Ereignisse Angst zu haben, verunsichert und besorgt zu sein. Hast du aber das Gefühl, dass deine Emotionen überhandnehmen oder dich stark beeinträchtigen, so solltest du deine Empfindungen aktiv adressieren und Strategien für den Umgang mit Angst anwenden. Schließlich hilft es niemandem, wenn es dir nicht gut geht.

Quellen

Aylett, Elizabeth; Small, Nicola; Bower, Peter (2018): Exercise in the treatment of clinical anxiety in
general practice - a systematic review and meta-analysis
. In: BMC Health Serv Res 18 (1), S. 559. DOI: 10.1186/s12913-018-3313-5.

Bandura, Albert (1988): Self-efficacy conception of anxiety. In: Anxiety Research 1 (2), S. 77–98. DOI:
10.1080/10615808808248222.

Chang, Vickie Y.; Palesh, Oxana; Caldwell, Rebecca; Glasgow, Nathan; Abramson, Mark; Luskin,
Frederic et al. (2004): The effects of a mindfulness-based stress reduction program on stress,
mindfulness self-efficacy, and positive states of mind.
In: Stress and Health 20 (3), S. 141–147. DOI:
10.1002/smi.1011.

Grossman, Paul; Niemann, Ludger; Schmidt, Stefan; Walach, Harald (2004): Mindfulness-based stress
reduction and health benefits.
In: Journal of Psychosomatic Research 57 (1), S. 35–43. DOI:
10.1016/S0022-3999(03)00573-7.

Kuehner, C.; Huffziger, S.; Liebsch, K. (2009): Rumination, distraction and mindful self-focus: effects
on mood, dysfunctional attitudes and cortisol stress response.
In: Psychol. Med. 39 (2), S. 219–228.
DOI: 10.1017/s0033291708003553 .

Pfefferbaum, Betty; Nitiéma, Pascal; Newman, Elana (2019): Is Viewing Mass Trauma Television
Coverage Associated With Trauma Reactions in Adults and Youth? A Meta-Analytic Review.
In:
Journal of Traumatic Stress 32 (2), S. 175–185. DOI: 10.1002/jts.22391 .

Pfefferbaum, Betty; Nitiéma, Pascal; Newman, Elana (2021): The association of mass trauma media
contact with depression and anxiety: A meta-analytic review.
In: Journal of Affective Disorders
Reports 3, S. 100063. DOI: 10.1016/j.jadr.2020.100063 .

Online meditieren

Wenn du das Meditieren selbst ausprobieren willst, heißen wir dich in unserem Online-Meditationsstudio herzlich willkommen. Bequem von Zuhause aus kannst du an einer unser zahlreichen von Expert:innen geleiteten Meditations-Sessions teilnehmen.

Wir freuen uns schon auf dich!

Auch interessant:

Folge uns für weitere spannende Inhalte und Informationen gerne auf Instagram, LinkedIn und Facebook.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter

envelopecrossarrow-down
DE
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram