online studio

Does an online meditation programme have a positive effect on students' stress levels and mindfulness?

By 
Frank Aschoff
|
09/03/2022
Meditation teacher, journalist and Cochrane member with a focus on evidence-based naturopathy

Young adults face many stressors in higher education - from academic rigour to limited financial resources. In the US, according to Dorais and Gutierrez (2021), mental health problems in higher education are also on the rise - and universities do not have the human and financial resources to meet the overwhelming need of students seeking counselling services. Counsellors usually have to put students on waiting lists or refer them to external services. But university counsellors have worked during the COVID 19 pandemic to provide additional services to students through online formats. Even as students return to universities, online services now remain a popular option. Online and evidence-based interventions offer university counsellors a good opportunity to work effectively.

One of the best-researched measures from complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) is meditation. It has already been shown many times in studies that it also has good effectiveness via online offers. Now, researchers Dorais and Gutierrez (2021) have tried to expand the knowledge of mindfulness interventions via online formats for students. In the randomised controlled trial (RCT) currently published in Frontiers in Psychology, they assume that students' interest in spirituality has increased compared to previous generations ("millennial spirituality").

The so-called "Centring Meditation" used as an intervention is based on a practice of the early Christian mystics, the "Centring Prayer". In its basic form, it was developed by the so-called Desert Fathers and Mothers in the 3rd century AD: Practitioners choose a word, such as "peace" or "hope" and use this to bring their mind back from distractions and re-centre it: The practitioner sits down, closes his eyes and repeats the word inwardly. When his thoughts wander away, he draws his attention back to the chosen word.

Studierende in Meditation

Similar practices can be found in many religious contexts (mantra, etc.). The authors presented the method to the participants as a spiritual practice for people from different religious faiths or even people without any "faith" or religiousness. Some pilot studies have already shown the effect of this practice in reducing depression, anxiety and stress.

Question

The question of the RCT was: Is there a statistically significant difference in terms of perceived stress level and mindfulness between students who participate in a centring meditation 2 times a day and students in a control group who are on a waiting list?

Method

In the randomised controlled trial, the treatment group took part in a 4-week programme with centring meditation for 10 minutes in the morning and 10 minutes in the evening. Dorais and Gutierrez (2021) then measured stress and mindfulness in both groups using the Perceived Stress Scale and Cognitive and Affective Mindfulness Scale-Revised at baseline, after 2 weeks and after 4 weeks.

Result

They came to the following results: The average participant in the treatment group attended 36 out of a total of 56 meditation sessions over 4 weeks, which corresponds to an adherence rate of 64%. The centring meditation had a statistically significant, positive impact on stress and mindfulness compared to the control group.

Original work

Dorais S, Gutierrez D. The Effectiveness of a Centering Meditation Intervention on College Stress and Mindfulness: A Randomized Controlled Trial. Front Psychol. 2021 Oct 21;12: 720824. doi: 10.3389/fpsyg.2021.720824 . PMID: 34744885 ; PMCID: PMC8567013.

Read the full original study here.

Interested?

If you would like to try out a meditation yourself, we welcome you to our Online Meditation Studio From the comfort of your own home, you can take part in one of our many expert-led meditation sessions.

The author of this article, Frank Aschoff, also offers his own meditation: The "Nur Sitzen" Meditation findet jeden Tuesday at 7:00 a.m.

We are already looking forward to seeing you!

Also interesting:

You can find more content from the author, Frank Aschoff, on his Instagram and LinkedIn profile.

Follow us on Instagram, LinkedIn and Facebook for more exciting content and information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to our newsletter

envelopecrossarrow-down
EN
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram

online studio

Wirkt ein Online-Meditationsprogramm positiv auf Stresslevel und Achtsamkeit von Studierenden?

Von 
Frank Aschoff
|
09/03/2022
Meditationslehrer, Journalist und Cochrane-Member mit dem Schwerpunktthema Evidenzbasierte Naturheilkunde

Junge Erwachsene sind in einem Hochschulstudium vielen Stressfaktoren ausgesetzt – von akademischer Strenge bis hin zu begrenzten finanziellen Mitteln. Auch in den USA nehmen laut Dorais und Gutierrez (2021) psychische Gesundheitsprobleme an Hochschulen stetig zu – und Universitäten verfügen nicht über die personellen und finanziellen Ressourcen für den überwältigenden Bedarf von Studierenden, die Beratungsdienste aufsuchen. Die Berater:innen müssen Studierende in der Regel auf Wartelisten setzen oder an externe Stellen verweisen. Aber Universitätsberater:innen haben während der COVID-19-Pandemie daran gearbeitet, Studierende zusätzlich über Online-Formate zu betreuen. Auch wenn die Studierenden in die Hochschulen zurückkehren, bleiben Online-Angebote inzwischen eine beliebte Option. Online- und evidenzbasierte Maßnahmen bieten Hochschulberater:innen eine gute Möglichkeit, effektiv zu arbeiten.

Eine der am besten erforschten Maßnahmen aus der Komplementären und Alternativen Medizin (KAM) ist die Meditation. Es konnte schon vielfach in Studien gezeigt werden, dass sie auch über Online-Angebote eine gute Wirksamkeit hat. Nun haben die Forscher:innen Dorais und Gutierrez (2021) das Wissen zu Achtsamkeitsmaßnahmen über Online-Formate für Studierende versucht zu erweitern. In der aktuell in „Frontiers in Psychology“ erschienenen randomisierten, kontrollierten Studie (RCT) gehen sie davon aus, dass das Interesse von Studierenden an Spiritualität im Vergleich zu vorhergehenden Generationen gestiegen ist („millennial spirituality“).

Die als Intervention eingesetzte sog. „Zentrierende Meditation“ basiert auf einer Praxis der frühen christlichen Mystiker, dem „Zentrierenden Gebet“. In ihrer Grundform wurde sie von den sog. Wüstenvätern und -müttern im 3. Jahrhundert n. Chr. entwickelt: Die Praktizierenden wählen ein Wort, wie zum Beispiel „Frieden“ oder „Hoffnung“ und nutzen dies, um ihren Geist von Ablenkungen zurückzuholen und zu rezentrieren: Der Praktizierende setzt sich, schließt die Augen und wiederholt das Wort innerlich. Wenn seine Gedanken wegwandern, lenkt er seine Aufmerksamkeit wieder zurück zu dem gewählten Wort.

Studierende in Meditation

Ähnliche Praktiken sind in vielen religiösen Kontexten zu finden (Mantra u.ä.). Die Autor:innen präsentierten den Teilnehmenden die Methode als spirituelle Praxis für Menschen aus verschiedenen religiösen Glaubensrichtungen oder auch Menschen ohne jeden „Glauben“ oder Religiösität. Einige Pilotstudien konnten schon den Effekt dieser Praxis zur Reduktion von Depressivität, Angst und Stress zeigen.

Fragestellung

Die Fragestellung der RCT war: Gibt es einen statistisch bedeutsamen Unterschied in Bezug auf den gefühlten Stress-Level und Achtsamkeit zwischen den Studierenden, die 2-mal täglich an einer Zentrierungsmeditation teilnehmen und Studierenden einer Kontrollgruppe, die auf einer Warteliste stehen?

Methode

In der randomisierten, kontrollierten Studie nahm die Behandlungsgruppe an einem 4-wöchigen Programm teil, mit Zentrierungsmeditation jeweils 10 min morgens und abends. Dorais und Gutierrez (2021) haben dann Stress und Achtsamkeit in beiden Gruppen mithilfe der „Perceived Stress Scale“ und „Cognitive and Affective Mindfulness Scale-Revised“ gemessen – und zwar zu Studienbeginn, nach 2 Wochen und nach 4 Wochen.

Ergebnis

Sie kamen zu folgenden Ergebnissen: Der durchschnittliche Teilnehmende der Behandlungsgruppe nahm an 36 von insgesamt 56 Meditationssitzungen über 4 Wochen teil, was einer Adhärenzrate von 64 % entspricht. Die zentrierende Meditation hatte einen statistisch bedeutsamen, positiven Einfluss auf Stress und Achtsamkeit im Vergleich zur Kontrollgruppe.

Originalarbeit

Dorais S, Gutierrez D. The Effectiveness of a Centering Meditation Intervention on College Stress and Mindfulness: A Randomized Controlled Trial. Front Psychol. 2021 Oct 21;12: 720824. doi: 10.3389/fpsyg.2021.720824 . PMID: 34744885 ; PMCID: PMC8567013.

Lese die vollständige Original-Studie hier.

Interesse?

Wenn Du jetzt selbst eine Meditation ausprobieren willst, heißen wir dich in unserem Online-Meditationsstudio herzlich willkommen. Bequem von Zuhause aus kannst du an einer unser zahlreichen, durch Expert:innen geleiteten, Meditations-Sessions teilnehmen.

Auch der Autor dieses Artikels, Frank Aschoff, bietet eine eigene Meditation an: Die "Nur Sitzen" Meditation findet jeden Dienstag um 7:00 Uhr statt.

Wir freuen uns schon auf Dich!

Auch interessant:

Mehr Inhalte vom Autor, Frank Aschoff, findest du auf seinem Instagram- und LinkedIn-Profil.

Folge uns für weitere spannende Inhalte und Informationen gerne auf Instagram, LinkedIn und Facebook.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter

envelopecrossarrow-down
DE
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram