online studio

Can meditation help with back pain?

By 
Frank Aschoff
|
13/04/2022
Meditation teacher, journalist and Cochrane member with a focus on evidence-based naturopathy

There are now many preventive and therapeutic methods based on mindfulness and meditation. Jon Kabat-Zinn developed mindfulness-based stress reduction (MBSR). In the meantime, several variants have been developed, such as mindfulness-based cognitive therapy (MBCT) and mindfulness-based pain management (MBPM). These are all examples of mindfulness-based interventions (MBI).

Chronic low back pain is one of the most common types of pain in adults. A recent review in the journal Pain Medicine explores whether meditation-based therapies are an alternative treatment option.

To do this, you have to know: MBSR, for example, mixes different methods. So it is by no means only the classical mindfulness meditation in the traditional sitting posture that is carried out. Other postures are also adopted, depending on individual needs. The so-called body scan often takes place in a lying position, and yoga exercises are also completed in a wide variety of starting positions.

Currently, patients with low back pain are often offered injections, painkillers or anti-inflammatory drugs - with still questionable effectiveness. Lin et al. have now investigated the applicability and effectiveness of meditation-based therapies for pain management.

Method

They conducted a systematic review with meta-analysis and included randomised controlled trials. The primary outcomes were pain intensity, quality of life and pain-related disability; the secondary outcomes were subjective distress or anxiety and impairment due to pain.

Result

The authors searched the PubMed, Embase and Cochrane databases for studies published up to July 2021. They included a total of 12 randomised controlled trials involving 1,153 patients. In 10 of the trials, meditation-based therapies reduced back pain intensity statistically significantly compared to therapies without meditation. In 7 of the studies, meditation-based therapies statistically significantly reduced pain interference compared to therapies without meditation. In 3 studies, meditation-based therapies significantly improved patients' quality of life compared to no meditation.

Conclusion

In conclusion, the researchers find that meditation-based therapies provide a safe and effective alternative approach to the management of chronic low back pain.

Meditation bei Rückenschmerzen: Bild von Frau, die Rückenschmerzen hat

Brief comment

In this study, the term "meditation-based therapy" is used to summarise various therapies and programmes and to look at them in an overarching way.

A fundamental idea in mindfulness meditation from the Buddhist tradition is that there are two different kinds of "suffering": the first simply consists of the sensation; it is unavoidable for human beings. The "second suffering" arises from mental resistance, the negative evaluation of the suffering, for example of a pain. This "second suffering" is avoidable or reducible.

These basic ideas from the Buddhist tradition are confirmed by modern neuroscience: Pain is first of all only a sensory perception. A receptor in the tissue signals tissue damage or the threat of tissue damage. However, it has now been discovered that our expectations, ideas, evaluations decide how we subjectively perceive this sensation, i.e. how the sensations are processed in the brain. This is one explanation for the positive effect of, for example, mindfulness meditation, which many pain patients report.

Of course, pain patients should adopt a position for the meditative exercise that does not aggravate their pain. In principle, mindfulness meditation can be done in any posture, even in motion. Of course, the more upright or moving the posture, the more difficult it is to focus attention. On the other hand, in more "comfortable" positions it is more difficult to stay focused and awake.

Source

Lin TH et al.: Meditation-based therapy for chronic low back pain management: a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Pain Med. 2022 Feb 28: pnac037. doi: 10.1093/pm/pnac037 . Epub ahead of print. PMID: 35226059.

Interested?

If you'd like to try meditation for yourself now, we welcome you to our online meditation studio. From the comfort of your own home, you can join one of our many expert-led meditation sessions.

The author of this article on the effectiveness of meditation for back pain, Frank Aschoff, also offers his own meditation: The "Just Sitting" meditation takes place every Tuesday at 7:00 am.

We are already looking forward to seeing you!

Also interesting:

You can find more content from the author, Frank Aschoff, on his Instagram and LinkedIn profile.

Follow us on Instagram, LinkedIn and Facebook for more exciting content and information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to our newsletter

envelopecrossarrow-down
EN
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram

online studio

Kann Meditation bei Rückenschmerzen helfen?

Von 
Frank Aschoff
|
13/04/2022
Meditationslehrer, Journalist und Cochrane-Member mit dem Schwerpunktthema Evidenzbasierte Naturheilkunde

Auf Achtsamkeit und Meditation beruhende vorbeugende und therapeutische Methoden gibt es inzwischen viele. Jon Kabat-Zinn hat die mindfulness-based stress reduction (MBSR) entwickelt. Inzwischen sind etliche Varianten entwickelt worden, wie die mindfulness-based cognitive therapy (MBCT) und auch das mindfulness-based pain management (MBPM). All dies sind Beispiele für mindfulness-based interventions (MBI), also auf der Achtsamkeitsmeditation basierende Methoden.

Chronische Kreuzschmerzen, sprich Lendenwirbelsäulenschmerzen, gehören zu den häufigsten Schmerzen bei Erwachsenen. Ein aktueller Review aus der Zeitschrift „Pain Medicine“ geht der Frage nach, ob auf Meditation basierte Therapien eine alternative Behandlungsoption darstellen.

Dazu muss man wissen: Zum Beispiel beim MBSR werden verschiedene Methoden gemischt. Es wird also längst nicht nur die klassische Achtsamkeitsmeditation in der traditionellen sitzenden Haltung durchgeführt. Auch andere Haltungen werden eingenommen, je nach individuellen Bedürfnissen. Der sog. Bodyscan findet oft im Liegen statt und auch Yoga-Übungen werden in den verschiedensten Ausgangsstellungen absolviert.

Derzeit werden den Patient:innen mit Schmerzen im unteren Rücken häufig Spritzen, Schmerzmittel oder entzündungshemmende Medikamente angeboten – mit immer noch fraglicher Effektivität. Lin et al. haben nun die Anwendbarkeit und die Effektivität von meditationsbasierten Therapien für das Schmerzmanagement untersucht.

Methode

Sie führten einen systematischen Review mit Metaanalyse durch und schlossen randomisierte, kontrollierte Studien ein. Die primären Outcomes, also Endergebnisse, waren Schmerzintensität, Lebensqualität und schmerzbedingte Behinderung; die sekundären Outcomes waren die subjektive Belastung oder Angst und die Beeinträchtigung durch den Schmerz.

Ergebnis

Die Autor:innen durchsuchten die Datenbanken PubMed, Embase und Cochrane nach bis Juli 2021 veröffentlichten Studien. Sie schlossen insgesamt 12 randomisierte, kontrollierte Studien mit 1.153 Patient:innen ein. In 10 der Studien reduzierten auf Meditation basierende Therapien die Rückenschmerzintensität statistisch bedeutsam im Vergleich zu Therapien ohne Meditation. In 7 Studien reduzierten auf Meditation basierte Therapien statistisch bedeutsam die Beeinträchtigung durch den Schmerz im Vergleich zu Therapien ohne Meditation. In 3 Studien verbesserten auf Meditation basierte Therapien die Lebensqualität der Patient:innen im Vergleich erheblich.

Schlussfolgerung

Zusammenfassend stellen die Forschenden fest, dass auf Meditation basierende Therapien einen sicheren und effektiven alternativen Ansatz für das Management von chronischen, unteren Rückenschmerzen darstellen.

Meditation bei Rückenschmerzen: Bild von Frau, die Rückenschmerzen hat

Kurzer Kommentar

In dieser Studie werden unter dem Begriff „auf Meditation basierende Therapie“ verschiedene Therapien und Programme zusammengefasst und übergreifend betrachtet.

Ein grundlegender Gedanke in der Achtsamkeitsmeditation aus der buddhistischen Tradition ist, dass es zwei verschiedene Arten von „Leiden“ gibt: das erste besteht einfach aus der Empfindung; sie ist für den Menschen unvermeidbar. Das „zweite Leiden“ entsteht aus dem mentalen Widerstand, der negativen Bewertung des Leidens, also zum Beispiel eines Schmerzes. Dieses „zweite Leiden“ ist vermeidbar oder reduzierbar.

Diese Grundgedanken aus der buddhistischen Tradition werden von moderner Neurowissenschaft bestätigt: Schmerz ist zunächst einmal nur eine Sinneswahrnehmung. Ein Rezeptor im Gewebe meldet eine Gewebeschädigung bzw. eine drohende Gewebeschädigung. Man hat aber nun herausgefunden, dass unsere Erwartungen, Vorstellungen, Bewertungen darüber entscheiden, wie wir diese Empfindung subjektiv wahrnehmen, also wie die Empfindungen im Gehirn verarbeitet werden. Dies ist ein Erklärungsansatz für die positive Wirkung von zum Beispiel der Achtsamkeitsmeditation über den viele Schmerzpatient:innen berichten.

Natürlich sollten Schmerzpatient:innen für die meditative Übung eine Position einnehmen, die ihre Schmerzen nicht verschlimmert. Grundsätzlich kann die Achtsamkeitsmeditation in jeder Haltung, sogar in Bewegung, durchgeführt werden. Je aufrechter oder bewegter die Haltung ist, umso schwerer ist es natürlich, die Aufmerksamkeit zu fokussieren. Andererseits ist es bei „gemütlicheren“ Positionen schwieriger, konzentriert und wach zu bleiben.

Quelle

Lin TH et al.: Meditation-based therapy for chronic low back pain management: a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Pain Med. 2022 Feb 28: pnac037. doi: 10.1093/pm/pnac037 . Epub ahead of print. PMID: 35226059.

Interesse?

Wenn Du jetzt selbst eine Meditation ausprobieren willst, heißen wir dich in unserem Online-Meditationsstudio herzlich willkommen. Bequem von Zuhause aus kannst du an einer unser zahlreichen, durch Experten geleiteten, Meditations-Sessions teilnehmen.

Auch der Autor dieses Artikels zur Wirksamkeit von Meditation bei Rückenschmerzen, Frank Aschoff, bietet eine eigene Meditation an: Die "Nur Sitzen" Meditation findet jeden Dienstag um 7:00 Uhr statt.

Wir freuen uns schon auf Dich!

Auch interessant:

Mehr Inhalte vom Autor, Frank Aschoff, findest du auf seinem Instagram- und LinkedIn-Profil.

Folge uns für weitere spannende Inhalte und Informationen gerne auf Instagram, LinkedIn und Facebook.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter

envelopecrossarrow-down
DE
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram