online studio

How can leaders use meditation?

By 
Mindfulife
|
30/03/2022

In recent years, the world of work has not only become more digital - it is also becoming more agile. This not only has an impact on the corporate structure, but also on the tasks and competences of the workforce. Whereas 100 years ago a manager mainly acted as a person who makes decisions and delegates, today he or she can also take on the role of a coach. This is how the entire working world is changing - away from strict hierarchies towards agile companies and leaders.

Change in the demands placed on managers

Due to the changes in the economy, the demands on managers are also changing. Unlike in the past, they are no longer pure decision-makers, but must also have social competences such as self-reflection and communication skills, in addition to professional competences, in order to optimally guide and motivate their employees. In order to cope with these new demands of the changed working world in the best possible way, managers have various methods at their disposal.

Mindfulness as support

In order to strengthen social skills that are also useful during work, mindfulness-based methods can be helpful. This is also shown by a recent study: In 2019, Kropp & Sedlmeier conducted a study in which they examined the effects of mindfulness-based relaxation methods. Compared to two other relaxation methods, the authors of this study were able to show that mindfulness practice was most strongly related to improved emotion regulation. The study concluded that the body scan helped the participants to better cope with a lack of emotions or with emotions that were too strong.

For example, when it comes to dealing with frustration arising from a digitally changed working world or helping an employee to accept setbacks, this method can be a central element in relaxation.

Mindfulness and performance

Another important benefit of mindfulness practice is improved performance on the job. This, of course, is also an important part of the job for managers - both in terms of themselves and in terms of supporting their employees. Psychological research has found a positive relationship between mindfulness and job performance (Dane & Brummel, 2014). In addition, mindfulness meditation can enhance both creativity and emotional intelligence - qualities that are particularly important in leadership work.

In particular, the influence of mindful leaders on their employees has come into scientific focus. For example, there are results that show that more mindful leaders also have higher-performing, more loyal and more satisfied employees (Reb et al., 2014).

Mindfulness and leaders

There are different ways to practice and cultivate mindfulness - one of them is meditation. Mindfulness meditation can also have an impact on self-awareness of one's leadership qualities, according to another study from 2014 (Amar et al., 2014).

Further research also suggests that meditation has a positive impact on the well-being and introspection skills of managers, which in turn can have a positive effect on employees. Based on these research findings, it may be useful for employers to use mindfulness practices to deal with the impact of digitalisation.

It is beneficial for organisations to promote interventions to positively contribute to the mental health of their own staff. Meditation is already promoted by some large organisations as an evidence-based intervention. The simple access to such programmes makes it easier for employees to take the first step towards trying interventions that may still be considered esoteric by some people. In order to offer professional interventions, organisations should therefore pay particular attention to the provider with whom they take place. The most suitable provider is one with certified teachers who have expertise in psychology, meditation and mindfulness research.

It can also be useful for companies to provide mindfulness training to managers with private teachers. A private class gives the leader more flexibility in integrating mindfulness into their own daily life and adapting the practice to their needs.

Read more about the benefits of being a mindful leader in this article!

Summary

Meditation is a practice through which one can develop and cultivate various qualities, including mindfulness. Mindfulness describes a certain way of living that can be cultivated through regular practice. The changing world of work brings with it new demands on leaders. To foster emotional and interpersonal skills, leaders can benefit from meditation. Mindfulness practices and meditation can help leaders firstly to better manage their own emotions and secondly to optimally support their employees. These components can increase the performance and satisfaction of both employers and employees.

Interested?

If you would like to try meditating for yourself, we welcome you to our Online Meditation Studio From the comfort of your own home, you can take part in one of our many expert-led meditation sessions.

We are already looking forward to seeing you!

Also interesting:

Follow us on Instagram, LinkedIn and Facebook for more exciting content and information.

Sources

Amar, A., Hlupic, V., & Tamwatin, T. (2014). Effect of Meditation of Self-Perception of Leadership Skills: A Contol Group Study of CEOs. In Academy of Management Proceedings (Vol. 2014, No. 1, p. 14282). Academy of Management.
https://westminsterresearch.westminster.ac.uk/item/q28z2/effect-of-meditation-of-self-perception-of-leadership-skills-a-contol-group-study-of-ceos

Barua, B., Muchiri, M., Muenjohn, N., Burgess, J. (2019). A Model Exploring Relationships Between Positive Leadership, Meditation, Flow and Task Performance. In The Journal of Developing Areas 53 (2), S. 229–238. DOI: 10.1353/jda.2019.0033 . https://muse.jhu.edu/article/703008/summary

Dane, E., & Brummel, B. J. (2014). Examining workplace mindfulness and its relations to job performance and turnover intention. Human relations, 67(1), 105-128.
https://doi.org/10.1177/0018726713487753.

Gifford, G. T., McKeage, R. L., & Biberman, J. (2014). Making space for wellbeing: Using guided meditation in leadership education. Journal of Leadership Education, 13(1), 103-115.
https://journalofleadershiped.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/02/gifford131.pdf

Kropp, A. & Sedlmeier, P. (2019). What Makes Mindfulness-Based Interventions Effective? An Examination of Common Components. Mindfulness, 10(10), 2060–2072.
https://doi.org/10.1007/s12671-019-01167-x

Lüneburg, Anke (2020): Erfolgreich sein als Führungskraft in der Arbeitswelt 4.0. Begeisterung wecken mit Zukunftskompetenzen und Coaching-Tools. Wiesbaden, Heidelberg: Springer (Essentials Ser). Online verfügbar unter https://de1lib.org/book/5402023/65f0c.

Purnomo, B. R., Eliyana, A., & Surya, W. A. (2020). The Effect of Transformational Leadership on Employee Job Satisfaction with the Meditation of Trust to Supervisors. Systematic Reviews in Pharmacy, 11(9), 676-686.

Reb, J., Narayanan, J., & Chaturvedi, S. (2014). Leading mindfully: Two studies on the influence of supervisor trait mindfulness on employee well-being and performance. Mindfulness, 5(1), 36-45.

Schiefer, Gernot (2019): Die Rolle der Führungskraft in Agilen Organisationen. Wie Führungskräfte und Unternehmen Jetzt Umdenken Sollten. Unter Mitarbeit von Hanna Nitsche. Wiesbaden: Springer Vieweg. in Springer Fachmedien Wiesbaden GmbH (Essentials Ser). Online verfügbar unter https://de1lib.org/book/5401627/85ae51.

Seppälä, E. (2017). How meditation benefits CEOs. Harvard Business Review. https://hbr. org/2015/12/how-meditation-benefits-ceos. https://static1.squarespace.com/static/5d4f230975e9c900012a2e58/t/5d59d97d72f41b00012986b4/1566169469841/How+Meditation+Benefits+CEOs.pdf

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to our newsletter

envelopecrossarrow-down
EN
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram

online studio

Wie können Führungskräfte Meditation nutzen?

Von 
Mindfulife
|
30/03/2022

In den letzten Jahren hat sich die Arbeitswelt nicht nur digitalisiert - sie wird auch immer agiler. Das hat nicht nur Auswirkungen auf die Unternehmensstruktur, sondern auch auf Aufgabenbereiche und Kompetenzen der Arbeitskräfte. Hat eine Führungskraft vor 100 Jahren vorwiegend als Person gewirkt, die Entscheidungen trifft und delegiert, kann sie heute auch die Aufgabe eines Coachs übernehmen. So verändert sich die gesamte Arbeitswelt - weg von strikten Hierarchien, hin zu agilen Unternehmen und Führungspersonen.

Veränderung des Anspruchs an die Führungskräfte

Durch die Veränderung der Wirtschaft verändern sich auch die Ansprüche an Führungskräfte. Anders als früher sind sie heute keine reinen Entscheider*innen mehr, sondern müssen neben den fachlichen auch sozialen Kompetenzen wie Selbstreflexion und Kommunikationsfähigkeit mitbringen, um ihre Mitarbeitenden optimal anzuleiten und zu motivieren. Damit sie diese neuen Anforderungen der veränderten Arbeitswelt bestmöglich bewältigen können, stehen Führungskräften verschiedene Methoden zur Verfügung.

Achtsamkeit als Unterstützung

Um soziale Kompetenzen zu stärken, die auch während der Arbeit von Nutzen sind, können achtsamkeitsbasierte Verfahren hilfreich sein. Das zeigt auch eine aktuelle Studie: Im Jahr 2019 führten Kropp & Sedlmeier eine Studie durch, in der sie die Wirkweisen von Mindfulness basierten Entspannungsmethoden untersuchten. Verglichen mit zwei anderen Entspannungsmethoden konnten die Autoren dieser Studie zeigen, dass die Achtsamkeitsübung am stärksten mit verbesserter Emotionsregulation zusammenhing. Die Studie kam zu dem Ergebnis, dass der Body-Scan den Teilnehmer:innen dabei half, besser mit mangelnden oder auch zu starken Emotionen umzugehen.

Wenn es im Arbeitsalltag beispielsweise darum geht, mit aufkommendem Frust durch eine von Digitalisierung veränderte Arbeitswelt umzugehen oder einem Mitarbeitenden dabei zu helfen, Rückschläge zu akzeptieren, kann diese Methode ein zentrales Element in der Entspannung darstellen.

Achtsamkeit und Leistungsfähigkeit

Ein weiterer wichtiger Vorteil der Achtsamkeitspraxis ist die verbesserte Leistungsfähigkeit im Job. Auch diese ist selbstverständlich für Führungskräfte ein wichtiger Teil der Arbeit - sowohl in Bezug auf die eigene Person als auch auf die Förderung der Mitarbeitenden. Psychologische Forschung konnte einen positiven Zusammenhang zwischen Achtsamkeit und Arbeitsleistung feststellen (Dane & Brummel, 2014). Außerdem kann Achtsamkeitsmeditation sowohl Kreativität als auch emotionale Intelligenz fördern - Qualitäten, die bei der Arbeit als Führungskraft besonders wichtig sind.

Besonders der Einfluss von achtsamen Führungskräften auf ihre Mitarbeitenden ist dabei in den wissenschaftlichen Fokus gerückt. So gibt es beispielsweise Ergebnisse, die zeigen, dass achtsamere Führungskräfte auch leistungsstärkere, besser an das Unternehmen gebundene und zufriedenere Mitarbeitende betreuen (Reb et al., 2014).

Achtsamkeit und Führungskräfte

Es gibt verschiedene Arten, wie man Achtsamkeit praktizieren und kultivieren kann - eine davon ist Meditation. Achtsamkeitsmeditation kann sich laut einer weiteren Studie aus dem Jahr 2014 außerdem auf die Selbstwahrnehmung der eigenen Führungsqualitäten auswirken (Amar et al., 2014).

Weitere Forschung deutet außerdem darauf hin, dass sich Meditation positiv auf das Wohlbefinden und die Introspektionsfähigkeit von Führungskräften auswirkt, was wiederum einen positiven Effekt auf die Mitarbeitenden haben kann. Basierend auf diesen Forschungsergebnissen kann es für Arbeitgebende sinnvoll sein, Achtsamkeitsverfahren zu nutzen, um mit den Auswirkungen der Digitalisierung umzugehen.

Für Organisationen ist es von Vorteil, Interventionen zu fördern, um die mentale Gesundheit der eigenen Mitarbeiter:innen positiv zu beeinflussen. Als evidenzbasierte Intervention wird Meditation bereits von einigen großen Organisationen gefördert. Der simple Zugang zu solchen Programmen erleichtert den Mitarbeitenden den ersten Schritt, Interventionen auszuprobieren, die für manche Personen vielleicht noch im Bereich der Esoterik verortet werden. Um professionelle Interventionen anzubieten, sollten Unternehmen deshalb besonders darauf achten, bei welchem Anbieter diese stattfinden. Am geeignetsten ist ein Anbieter mit zertifizierten Lehrer:innen, die Fachwissen in den Bereichen der Psychologie, Meditation und Achtsamkeitsforschung mitbringen.

Für Unternehmen kann es außerdem sinnvoll sein, Führungskräften Achtsamkeitstraining mit privaten Lehrer:innen zur Verfügung zu stellen. Ein privater Unterricht gibt der Führungskraft mehr Flexibilität darin, die Achtsamkeit in den eigenen Alltag zu integrieren und die Praxis an ihre Bedürfnisse anzupassen.

Lies mehr zu den Vorteilen einer achtsamen Führungskraft in diesem Artikel!

Fazit

Meditation ist eine Praxis, mithilfe derer man verschiedene Qualitäten entwickeln und kultivieren kann, darunter auch Achtsamkeit. Achtsamkeit beschreibt eine bestimmte Art zu leben, die durch regelmäßige Praxis kultiviert werden kann. Die sich wandelnde Arbeitswelt bringt neue Ansprüche an Führungskräfte mit sich. Um emotionale und zwischenmenschliche Kompetenzen zu fördern, können Führungskräfte von Meditation profitieren. Achtsamkeitsübungen und Meditation können Führungspersonen dabei helfen, erstens die eigenen Emotionen besser zu bewältigen und zweitens ihre Mitarbeitenden optimal zu unterstützen. Durch diese Komponenten kann die Leistungsfähigkeit und die Zufriedenheit sowohl der Arbeitgebenden als auch der Mitarbeitenden gesteigert werden.

Interesse?

Wenn Du das Meditieren selbst ausprobieren willst, heißen wir Dich in unserem Online-Meditationsstudio herzlich willkommen. Bequem von Zuhause aus kannst du an einer unser zahlreichen von Experten geleiteten Meditations-Sessions teilnehmen.

Wir freuen uns schon auf Dich!

Auch interessant:

Folge uns für weitere spannende Inhalte und Informationen gerne auf Instagram, LinkedIn und Facebook.

Quellen

Amar, A., Hlupic, V., & Tamwatin, T. (2014). Effect of Meditation of Self-Perception of Leadership Skills: A Contol Group Study of CEOs. In Academy of Management Proceedings (Vol. 2014, No. 1, p. 14282). Academy of Management.
https://westminsterresearch.westminster.ac.uk/item/q28z2/effect-of-meditation-of-self-perception-of-leadership-skills-a-contol-group-study-of-ceos

Barua, B., Muchiri, M., Muenjohn, N., Burgess, J. (2019). A Model Exploring Relationships Between Positive Leadership, Meditation, Flow and Task Performance. In The Journal of Developing Areas 53 (2), S. 229–238. DOI: 10.1353/jda.2019.0033 . https://muse.jhu.edu/article/703008/summary

Dane, E., & Brummel, B. J. (2014). Examining workplace mindfulness and its relations to job performance and turnover intention. Human relations, 67(1), 105-128.
https://doi.org/10.1177/0018726713487753.

Gifford, G. T., McKeage, R. L., & Biberman, J. (2014). Making space for wellbeing: Using guided meditation in leadership education. Journal of Leadership Education, 13(1), 103-115.
https://journalofleadershiped.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/02/gifford131.pdf

Kropp, A. & Sedlmeier, P. (2019). What Makes Mindfulness-Based Interventions Effective? An Examination of Common Components. Mindfulness, 10(10), 2060–2072.
https://doi.org/10.1007/s12671-019-01167-x

Lüneburg, Anke (2020): Erfolgreich sein als Führungskraft in der Arbeitswelt 4.0. Begeisterung wecken mit Zukunftskompetenzen und Coaching-Tools. Wiesbaden, Heidelberg: Springer (Essentials Ser). Online verfügbar unter https://de1lib.org/book/5402023/65f0c.

Purnomo, B. R., Eliyana, A., & Surya, W. A. (2020). The Effect of Transformational Leadership on Employee Job Satisfaction with the Meditation of Trust to Supervisors. Systematic Reviews in Pharmacy, 11(9), 676-686.

Reb, J., Narayanan, J., & Chaturvedi, S. (2014). Leading mindfully: Two studies on the influence of supervisor trait mindfulness on employee well-being and performance. Mindfulness, 5(1), 36-45.

Schiefer, Gernot (2019): Die Rolle der Führungskraft in Agilen Organisationen. Wie Führungskräfte und Unternehmen Jetzt Umdenken Sollten. Unter Mitarbeit von Hanna Nitsche. Wiesbaden: Springer Vieweg. in Springer Fachmedien Wiesbaden GmbH (Essentials Ser). Online verfügbar unter https://de1lib.org/book/5401627/85ae51.

Seppälä, E. (2017). How meditation benefits CEOs. Harvard Business Review. https://hbr. org/2015/12/how-meditation-benefits-ceos. https://static1.squarespace.com/static/5d4f230975e9c900012a2e58/t/5d59d97d72f41b00012986b4/1566169469841/How+Meditation+Benefits+CEOs.pdf

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter

envelopecrossarrow-down
DE
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram