online studio

On mindfulness, self-compassion and friendship with yourself

By 
Felicitas Chiara Franz
|
11/05/2022
Currently studying psychology at HS Fresenius in Frankfurt.

In this episode, Tonka and Philipp talk to the social psychologist Aljoscha Dreisörner. He gives valuable tips on how to deal with stress (especially during the Corona pandemic) and talks about his own path to and with mindfulness. The difference between self-compassion and self-compassion is also addressed. 

What is the conversation with Aljoscha Dreisörner about?

  • What led Aljoscha from his business studies to mindfulness?
  • What topics does he deal with in his doctorate?
  • What is the difference between self-compassion and self-pity?
  • How can I train self-compassion?
  • What can I do against stress? 

Aljoscha Dreisörner is now a successful social psychologist who lectures in the field of psychology at Goethe University and is currently working on his doctorate. However, before he got to where he is now, he studied business administration and wanted to earn a lot of money and become very successful. The topic of money has always preoccupied him for the reason that his parents divorced in his childhood and his mother always had to pay close attention to finances with him and three other children. Towards the end of his business studies, however, Alyosha realised that it could not be his goal to have his whole world revolve around himself and to strive only for success and money.

He now began to look into meditation, attended a student camp and finally negotiated a deal with himself: He would try meditating once a day for six months. If he didn't feel any change after these six months, he would stop; if he did, he would continue meditating. However, it turned out very quickly for him that the newly acquired awareness had a decisive influence on his life. He reports that he perceived himself as calmer, more conscious and also more thoughtful, which in turn had a positive effect on his social environment, his way of working and many other areas of life. 

Selbstmitgefühl

By chance, he then came across the topic of mindfulness for his doctorate. In the process, he investigated and still investigates the construct of self-compassion and thus also its individual components: self-kindness, connecting humanity and mindfulness in various studies. 

Self-pity and self-compassion

Alyosha answers the question of where self-compassion and self-compassion differ by saying that self-compassion means identifying with bad experiences and taking on a victim role, while self-compassion is expressed through a gentle and understanding way of dealing with oneself. The construct of connecting humanity, which is part of self-compassion, also describes the knowledge of the person concerned that he or she is not the only person to whom something bad has happened.

Self-compassion is to be understood as a state and also as a quality and can be trained through writing exercises and many other positive psychological interventions. That self-compassion is an important quality can also be seen in the fact that hugs from others and touches from oneself have the same positive effects on one's own well-being, according to Alyosha. 

The benefits of meditation

Against stress, especially in the context of the Corona pandemic, he recommends spending time with friends, meditating, going out and generally taking time for oneself. He himself was also helped by becoming and being aware that he himself was not responsible for the situation and the personal problems that arose for him as a result of the pandemic. 

Alyosha then tells us that as a lecturer at the university he likes to start his lectures with a meditation and is very popular for it. 

He thinks it makes sense for this to be done not only at his lectures, but also at his students' later workplaces. Alyosha is convinced that mindfulness and thus also meditation have positive effects in the workplace, especially in important and high positions, and should thus play a greater role. However, he emphasises that all his recommendations and also his own workshops are always evidence-based and he also places a high value on this. 

He also sees strong growth in the research field in the future.

The Podcast

If you liked Episode #1: A critical look at mindfulness then listen to the other episodes. For more information about the podcast and where you can listen to it, go to About the Mind.

Interested? 

If you want to try meditation for yourself, we welcome you to our online meditation studio. From the comfort of your home, you can participate in one of our many expert-led meditation sessions. We are looking forward to seeing you! Online Meditation Studio . From the comfort of your own home, you can take part in one of our many expert-led meditation sessions.

We are already looking forward to seeing you!

Also interesting:

Follow us on Instagram, LinkedIn and Facebook for more exciting content and information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to our newsletter

envelopecrossarrow-down
EN
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram

online studio

Über Achtsamkeit, Selbstmitgefühl und die Freundschaft mit dir selbst

Von 
Felicitas Chiara Franz
|
11/05/2022
Studiert Psychologie an der HS Fresenius in Frankfurt.

In dieser Folge sprechen Tonka und Philipp mit dem Sozialpsychologen Aljoscha Dreisörner. Er gibt wertvolle Tipps, um mit Stress (vor allem auch während der Corona-Pandemie) umzugehen und berichtet von seinem eigenen Weg zur und mit der Achtsamkeit. Auch der Unterschied zwischen Selbstmitleid und Selbstmitgefühl wird thematisiert. 

Worum geht es in dem Gespräch mit Aljoscha Dreisörner?

  • Was führte Aljoscha von seinem BWL-Studium zur Achtsamkeit?
  • Mit welchen Themen befasst er sich bei seiner Promotion?
  • Wo liegt der Unterschied zwischen Selbstmitgefühl und Selbstmitleid?
  • Wie kann ich Selbstmitgefühl trainieren?
  • Was kann ich gegen Stress tun? 

Aljoscha Dreisörner ist mittlerweile ein erfolgreicher Sozialpsychologe, der an der Goethe Uni Dozent für das Gebiet der Psychologie ist, außerdem arbeitet er aktuell an seiner Promotion. Bevor er jedoch dahin kam, wo er jetzt ist, studierte er Betriebswirtschaftslehre und wollte damit viel Geld verdienen und sehr erfolgreich werden. Das Thema Geld beschäftigte ihn aus dem Grund schon immer, da seine Eltern sich in seiner Kindheit schieden und seine Mutter mit ihm und drei weiteren Kindern immer sehr auf die Finanzen achten musste. Gegen Ende seines BWL-Studiums merkte Aljoscha aber dann, dass es nicht sein Ziel sein konnte, dass sich seine ganze Welt nur um sich dreht und er nur nach Erfolg und Geld strebt.

Er fing nun an, sich mit Meditation zu beschäftigen, besuchte ein Studentencamp und handelte schließlich einen Deal mit sich selbst aus: Er wollte es sechs Monate ausprobieren, täglich einmal zu meditieren. Wenn er nach diesen sechs Monaten noch keine Veränderung verspüre, würde er abbrechen, wenn doch, würde er weiterhin meditieren. Es stellte sich dabei allerdings sehr schnell für ihn heraus, dass die neu erlangte Bewusstheit sein Leben maßgeblich prägte. So berichtet er, dass er sich als ruhiger, bewusster und auch überlegter wahrnahm, was sich dann wiederum positiv auf sein soziales Umfeld, seine Arbeitsweise und viele weitere Lebensbereiche auswirkte. 

Selbstmitgefühl

Durch Zufall kam er dann auf das Thema der Achtsamkeit für seine Promotion. Dabei untersuchte und untersucht er immer noch das Konstrukt des Selbstmitgefühls und somit auch dessen einzelne Komponenten: Selbstfreundlichkeit, verbindende Humanität und Achtsamkeit in verschiedenen Studien. 

Selbstmitleid und Selbstmitgefühl

Die Frage, wo sich Selbstmitleid und Selbstmitgefühl unterscheiden, beantwortet Aljoscha damit, dass Selbstmitleid eine Identikifaktion mit schlimmen Erlebnissen und das Einnehmen einer Opferrolle bedeutet, während Selbstmitgefühl durch einen sanften und verständnisvollen Umgang mit sich selbst ausgedrückt wird. Das Konstrukt der verbindenden Humanität, welches Teil des Selbstmitgefühls ist, beschreibt zudem noch das Wissen der betroffenen Person, dass sie nicht der einzige Mensch ist, dem etwas Schlimmes widerfahren ist.

Selbstmitgefühl ist als ein Zustand und auch als eine Eigenschaft zu verstehen und ist mittels Schreibübungen und vielen anderen positiv psychologischen Interventionen trainierbar. Dass Selbstmitgefühl eine wichtige Eigenschaft ist, sieht man auch daran, dass Umarmungen von Anderen und Berührungen von sich selbst die gleichen positiven Auswirkungen auf das eigene Wohlbefinden haben, so Aljoscha. 

Der Nutzen von Meditation

Gegen Stress, vor allem im Kontext der Corona-Pandemie, empfiehlt er, Zeit mit Freunden zu verbringen, zu meditieren, rauszugehen und generell sich Zeit für sich selbst zu nehmen. Ihm selbst half auch das Bewusstwerden und -sein, dass er selbst nicht für die Lage und die persönlichen Probleme, die für ihn durch die Pandemie entstanden, verantwortlich ist. 

Aljoscha erzählt dann, dass er als Dozent an der Universität seine Vorlesungen gerne mit einer Meditation beginnt und dafür einen großen Zuspruch erfährt. 

Er hält es für sinnvoll, dass dies nicht nur bei seinen Vorlesungen, sondern auch auf den späteren Arbeitsplätzen seiner Studenten durchgeführt wird. Aljoscha ist davon überzeugt, dass Achtsamkeit und somit auch Meditation im Beruf, vor allem bei wichtigen und hohen Positionen, positive Auswirkungen hat und somit eine größere Rolle spielen sollte. Dabei betont er aber, dass all seine Empfehlungen und auch die eigenen Workshops immer evidenzbasiert sind und er darauf auch einen hohen Wert legt. 

Auch zukünftig sieht er noch ein starkes Wachstum in dem Forschungsgebiet.

Der Podcast

Wenn dir Folge #1: Ein kritischer Blick auf die Achtsamkeit gefallen hat, dann höre mal in die anderen Folgen rein. Weitere Informationen zum Podcast und wo du ihn dir anhören kannst, findest du auf About the Mind.

Interesse? 

Wenn Du das Meditieren selbst ausprobieren willst, heißen wir dich in unserem Online-Meditationsstudio herzlich willkommen. Bequem von Zuhause aus kannst du an einer unser zahlreichen von Expert:innen geleiteten Meditations-Sessions teilnehmen.

Wir freuen uns schon auf Dich!

Auch interessant:

Folge uns für weitere spannende Inhalte und Informationen gerne auf Instagram, LinkedIn und Facebook.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter

envelopecrossarrow-down
DE
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram